Felix D. Battistella, M.D.Dr. Battistella was professor of surgery at UC Davis School of Medicine and chief of the Division of Trauma and Emergency Surgery at UC Davis Medical Center. He earned his medical degree and completed his surgical residency at UC Davis. During his career, he was honored with UC Davis School of Medicine's Distinguished Alumni Award, the Outstanding Resident Teaching Award, Outstanding Chief Resident Award, Friends of Nursing's Physician of the Year, and Outstanding Faculty Member in a Teaching Capacity.

"Dr. Battistella's unselfish dedication to his field, his colleagues and to the UC Davis Health System community was widely known." said Claire Pomeroy, Vice Chancellor for Human Health Sciences and Dean of the UC Davis School of Medicine. "The many contributions he made have forever shaped the way we provide compassionate care for patients in their hour of need."

Felix D. Battistella, M.D. was an integral member of the Department of Surgery for over 22 years, first as a resident and then as a faculty member, until his untimely death at the age of 48.  The Department of Surgery at the University of California, Davis, has established the Felix D. Battistella Endowed Lectureship. This endowed fund allows for a nationally known speaker to visit annually and thus honor Felix on a regular basis. If you would like to help to preserve Felix’s memory please consider a contribution to this fund. Checks should be made payable to “UC Regents” with a memo to the Battistella Lectureship Fund and mailed to Michelle Tafoya, Director of Giving Programs, UC Davis Health System, 4900 Broadway, Suite 1150, Sacramento, CA 95820. To make a donation by credit card, please contact Michelle at (916) 734-9117 or mtafoya@ucdavis.edu.  Your gift is tax deductible and you will receive a receipt.


Roxie M. Albrecht, M.D., University of Oklahoma, 2019

Ronald M. Stewart, M.D., UT Health San Antonio, 2017

Thomas M. Scalea, M.D., University of Maryland Medical Center, 2016

Gregory J. Jurkovich, M.D., Denver Health Medical Center, 2014

Raul Coimbra, M.D., UC San Diego Health System, 2013

Gregory Victorino, M.D. UC San Francisco, 2012

Ken Mattox, M.D., Ben Taub General Hospital, 2010

Stephen Bartlett, M.D., University of Maryland Medical Center, 2009

Joseph Galante, M.D., UC Davis Medical Center, 2008